Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association has four awards that are given out yearly to extraordinary alumni. If you or someone you know should be nominated for one of these awards, please fill out the individual award forms below.

How do I nominate a deserving recipient?

Please reference the individual award forms below in order to see the nomination information needed.

How are the nominees selected?

The Awards and Recognition Committee of the Alumni Board of Directors meets to review nominations and recipients are approved by the entire board during its winter meeting. Award winners are notified and are invited to receive their award at the annual Awards Dinner during Alumni Weekend. Nominees remain on the nomination list for three years.

Nomination Submission

You can submit your nomination in the following ways:

  1. Filling out one of the online award forms below
  2. Emailing the Alumni Relations Office at [email protected].
  3. Mailing your nomination to:

Alumni Relations Office
Oglethorpe University
4484 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30319

Talmage Award

The Talmage Award is the most prestigious award given by the Alumni Association. The recipient of the Talmage Award contributes time, talent or financial resources to one or more programs of the university and/or is distinguished in the business, philanthropic or professional world.  Recent recipients include: James V. Hartlage, Jr. ’65, Eric Scharff ’63, Dean DuBose Smith ’70, Tom O’Connor ’67, and Karen Head ’98.

Carillon Award (Formerly School Bell Award)

Formerly the School Bell Award, the Carillon Award recognizes alumni, or past or present faculty members, who have made lasting contributions in education, civic engagement, or innovation. Recent recipients include: Stephanie Szalkowski ’89, Kerensa Shoemake Wing ’90, Angela Satterfield ’97, Dr. Linda Taylor, and Carletta Hurt ’98.

Belle Turner Lynch ’61 Spirit of Oglethorpe Award

The recipient of the Belle Turner Lynch ’61 Spirit of Oglethorpe Award is an alumni member who lives by the Oglethorpe motto: Make a life. Make a living. Make a difference, and demonstrates the attributes of a liberal arts education by exhibiting creativity, purposefulness, and a commitment to improving the quality of their community. Recent recipients include: Mark DeLong ’03, Soumya Kantamneni Silver ’08, Jody Stephenson ’03, Stephanie Everett ’96, and Shaniece Broadus Criss ’02.

O.K. Sheffield ’53 Young Alumna/us Award

The O.K. Sheffield ’53 Young Alumnus Award recognizes a graduate of the last ten years who has shown leadership and inspired other young alumni through participation in career, public service, volunteer, or continuing education activities. Recent recipients include: Edmund Smith ’15, Ruwa Romman ’15, Awet Woldegebriel ’14, Malika Whitley ’11, and Matthew Claiborne ’11.